My Film Camera (yay!)

I actually promised to immediately blog my first film camera ever but (as usual) I didn’t. I honestly had a lot of time since then but I opted to rest instead. There are even times when I would finally open my laptop and blog about it but I always end up doing and checking other things instead. I can still remember that I bought my camera October 1, 2016, Saturday. I know because my nephew was born the day before.

Anyway, I originally opted to buy online from a trusted seller. I already reserved the camera I wanted to buy but when I texted Mang Danny, one of the few sellers of film cameras in Hidalgo, he told me that there were new cameras delivered to him. I immediately told my cousin the news and he said that we should go take a look at it and see what fortune we have. Right after my Saturday class, we met at Carrriedo station and headed to Mang Danny’s stand. He was wearing his usual beaming smile and gleaming eyes. I knew how cheap his cameras are because when I first went to his stand, he was handing me a Canon AE-1 for only 2,500php. That’s a steal! I can haggle for a lower price, I know, because I will be buying my film from him too. Unfortunately, I didn’t buy it because I thought it would still be there when I go back. But it wasn’t there anymore. He said that MMA (Multimedia Arts) students from different Universities went to Hidalgo to scout for a good steal, then POOF! I missed the chance.

Now about my camera, I managed to buy an Asahi Pentax SL for 2,200php. It was 10/10 in cosmetics and its lenses were fine. I won in convincing my cousin to buy the other camera that was Asahi Pentax SII for the same price. Mang Danny presented me the SII first but my cousin wanted it so we exchanged. No biggie. I bought a fresh roll of Kodak Colorplus 200 while my cousin bought a Fujicolor Superia 200 from the Fujifilm kiosk in Hidalgo. The only downside of our camera was its lack of light meter. I realized how essential it was for beginners like us but out of eagerness and excitement, I forget to ask for a camera that has its own light meter. Pinterest and google articles had been helpful to me. I managed to finish my first roll with the Sunny Rule 16 as my wallpaper and with the help of a light meter app. The only problem is that I’m not sure if my light meter was accurate. Bahala na. Click lang ng click. Advance. Click.

Now because of my lazy ass that keeps giving excuses, I haven’t made any effort to take my first film to a developer. It was quite pricey so if you can recommend somewhere near Manila where it is possible to have my film develop for less than 95php and scan it for less than 150php, hit me up in the comment section!

That’s all for now. I swear I will take my film to a developer and have it scanned so I can share it with you guys.

Ciao!

♥,

A

Leave a Reply

